Knowledge Point – 1

SriSriSpeaks: Attraction is related to pleasure and it will come and go, whereas love is a compulsion, it stays with us. Attraction is for a short period of time but love is our true nature. You can’t be without love.

Q: Guruji, what is your goal?
Sri Sri Ravi Shankar:
 My goal is to see an undying smile on your face. I want to see a violence-free society filled with devotion.

SriSriSpeaks: Meditation is like water to the thirsty. Meditation is the way for inner peace, for upliftment of the spirit. If you ask me, ‘Is water the only way to quench the thirst? Is food the only way to satisfy the hunger?’ What should I say? Yes!

Q: Is violent action ever appropriate?
Sri Sri Ravi Shankar:
 A conscious action taken to curb violence may appear to be violent itself. In fact it is not. However, I am not for capital punishment. I feel there is a chance to bring reformation in every body. Have compassion for the ones who do hurtful things and have no remorse. Have compassion for their lack of education and recognize that there is a victim inside the culprit.

SriSriSpeaks: Freedom (mukti) comes first and then bhakti. Only when you are free does love well up in you and bhakti comes.

Q: Guruji, what can I do if I love someone very much who is very negative and I feel incapable to change that person.
Sri Sri Ravi Shankar:
 Don’t lose hope. Wait for some time, make some more effort. If they change, that is good, but if they don’t change then just move on.

